After a month-long delay, I’m glad to be back doing these posts. I had a really bad cold, and a slow recovery time. My ears are still clogged from inflammation of my sinuses (After this long though, I don’t think it’s so much inflammation as just fluid stuck in my ears), but other than that, I think I’m okay now.

I offer this post as a replacement for the ones mentioned in Bob Purse’s “The Wonderful and the Obscure”, where he linked to posts in my past blog, before I switched back to WordPress.

Gene Marshall’s later version of “Helen Goodnight”

In trying to find the infamous song-poem “My Doll Jane” on Discogs, which as of 3/13/23 is not there, I found a version of the flipside of that, “Helen Goodnight”, that he recorded later!

“Helen Goodnight” – Gene Marshall Download

And here’s the flipside of that version.

“Come On Baby” – Gene Marshall Download

Gene Marshall ‘s later version of Mike Thomas’s “What Do You Say Baby…”

Frank Wilson, the writer of “What Do You Say Baby Beautiful Joyce”, as well as Beautiful Joyce herself, reconfigured lines of the song, mailed them to another song-poem outfit, and had this version pressed themselves!

“What Do You Say Baby Beautiful Joyce” – Gene Marshall & the Clicking Flicks Download

And here’s the flipside of that version.

Diane No. 2 – Gene Marshall & the Clicking Flicks Download

The Sisterhood’s mod version of “Oh, Happy Day

This comes from the MSR 1975 Christmas Album.

A Happy Day – The Sisterhood Download

My George Liberace Songsmiths 45

After seeing Bob’s post of a George Liberace Songsmiths 45, I decided to buy my own.

Little Darling – Dick Kent Download

When I was a kid, we went to 2 different stores with Santa Clauses (which I think helped mom & dad to pick out presents as well), and I actually said to the one in K-Mart, “I was gonna say I wanted [whatever it was], but I already told you that at Howard Brothers.”

Santa’s Mommy Must Have Had Quintuplets – Gene Marshall Download

“Music from the World of the Strange and the Bizarre”, 2014: The “No Top Teeth” Episodes

Mar. 29, 2014 Download

Apr. 5, 2014 Download

Apr. 12, 2014 Download

Apr. 19, 2014 Download

And after I got my new dentures in.

June 8, 2014 Download

And now, for the 2 song-poems I have that use newer versions of the same background music as Halmark’s “Life Is a Flame”.

He’s Right for Me – Elaine Patree Download

You Hurt Me – Michelle Wood Download

I hope to do these posts on a more regular basis from now on.

Leave a comment